Louisiana Tax Calculator: Estimate Your Taxes

Disclaimer: Calculations are estimates based on tax rates as of Dec. 2021 and data from the Tax Foundation. These rates are subject to change. Check the IRS website for the latest information about income taxes and your state tax website for state-specific information. Our calculator doesn’t consider both 401k and IRA deductions due to the tax law limitations. Please note, the amount of your IRA deductions may vary. You should speak with a tax professional to determine your tax situation.

Savings Account Promotions for 2022

What You Need To Know About Louisiana State Taxes

Louisiana requires you to pay taxes if you’re a resident or nonresident who receives income from a Louisiana source. The state income tax rates for the 2021 tax year range from 2.0% to 6.0%, and the sales tax rate is 4.45%.

The Pelican State offers tax deductions and credits to reduce your tax liability, including a school expense deduction, military income deduction and a child care tax credit.

Louisiana Income Tax Brackets and Rates: Single, Married Filing Separately, or Head of Household

Louisiana Income Tax Brackets and Rates: Married Filing Jointly, and Qualified Widow(er)

Income Tax Deductions for Louisiana

Standard Deduction

Louisiana doesn’t have a standard deduction.

Itemized Deductions

The state taxpayers to deduct any federally itemized deductions, less the allowable federal standard deduction amount for their filing status.

School Expense Deduction

Louisiana residents can take a deduction up to $5,000 for 50% of school expenses paid for each qualified dependent for the year.

Military Income Deduction

Louisiana who serve in the armed forces, stationed outside the state on active duty for 120 or more consecutive days, may qualify for an income deduction of up to $30,000 residents. You must include your income on the state tax return prior to claiming the deduction.

Louisiana State Income Tax Credits

School Readiness Child Care Directors and Staff Tax Credit

In 2021, qualified directors and staff of child care facilities can claim a tax credit of up to $3,000. The allowable credit amount is based on the provider’s qualifications as determined by the Louisiana Department of Children and Family Services state practitioner registry. This credit is refundable.

Child Care Tax Credit

Louisiana residents can claim a child tax credit, similar to the federal child and dependent care credit, on their state tax return. The amount is a percentage of the allowable federal credit, and you would need to complete a worksheet to determine your credit.

Historic Residential Tax Credit

Taxpayers who buy a home within a National Register Historic District can claim a tax credit worth up to $18,500 for qualifying expenses incurred during rehabilitation. There’s a limit of one credit per rehabilitated structure.

This credit is refundable.

Do I Have to Pay Income Tax in Louisiana?

Louisiana full-time residents, part-year residents, and nonresidents with Louisiana income sources and who are required to file a federal income tax return must file a state return. The same is true for taxpayers who wish to claim a refund for taxes withheld or estimated taxes paid, regardless of whether they filed a federal return.

Louisiana-domiciled military personnel who have to file a federal tax return must file a state return and report all their income no matter where they’re stationed.

Sales Tax and Sales Tax Rates

The state sales tax rate is 4.45%.

Property Taxes and Property Tax Rates

Property Tax Rates

Property taxes are levied on a local level in Louisiana.

Capital Gains Taxes

Capital gains are taxed as ordinary income.

Inheritance and Estate Tax, and Inheritance and Estate Tax Exemption

Louisiana’s estate tax is only imposed on estates that are also subject to taxation at a federal level. Louisiana doesn’t have an inheritance tax.

Compare the best tax software of 2022

Leave a Comment

Businesswebsiteindex